Happy Mama’s Day!

Happy Mother’s Day to all the moms, stepmoms, honorary moms, godmothers, grandmothers, etc! Moms don’t always get the attention and appreciation that they deserve, which is sort of mind-blowing when you think about it. Our mothers are literally life-makers (see below). So, remember to squeeze your mama extra hard today and thank her for being so crafty (because YOU are pretty darn special, too).

My mom just so happens to be the reason I am a life-long feminist. From the youngest age, I was taught that women and men are equal. This is a great idea in theory, but do we always practice what we preach? Well, my mom was 100% on board with my early rebellions against patriarchy. I remember urging my childhood friends, some of whom were expected to be subservient, about the importance of demanding respect from boys and men in their lives. In a protest a little closer to home, I sent thank you letters to my grandparents with their titles switched from “Mr. and Mrs. Jim Scott” to “Mrs. and Mr. Geraldine Scott.” My mom supported all of this and then some. Her example of practicing feminism led me to where I am today. Below = proof because I’m literally dressed as Rosie the Riveter.

14345_546745430715_7111371_n

Also for your viewing pleasure, my beautiful mom and I in 1992 (?) and 2009 (my college graduation). Next weekend, I’m heading home to celebrate my mom’s own graduation from her Master’s degree. I cannot be more proud and inspired by her!

224073_597953504325_141838_n    4585_539213684395_8015845_n

Leave a Reply

